Skip navigation

Set up Class Email Lists as Announcement Tool

By default, all list subscribers can post messages to your class email list. However, you can also set up your class email list as an announcement tool, so that only you and/or your TAs can post messages to the list.
Note: If an individual not subscribed to the list attempts to post a message, it will be delivered to you, as the list owner, then discarded.

  1. Access your list's Administration page. See our Request & Manage an Electronic Mailing List page for instructions.
  2. On the List Administration screen, under Configuration Categories, click Membership Management.... The Membership List will open in the lower part of the screen.
  3. Scroll to the bottom of the page and under Additional Member Tasks, next to Set everyone's moderation bit, including those members not currently visible, select On, then click Set to save your changes. The screen will reload and, under Membership List, in the mod column, you will see checked boxes for list members.

     

    All messages sent to the list will now be re-directed to the list moderator for approval. As the list moderator, you have the option to approve or reject any message.

    Note: To revert the list back to its default moderation options, on the Membership Management window, under Set everyone's moderation bit, including those members not currently visible, select Off, then click Set to save your changes.

  4. To only allow messages from certain list members to be sent to the list (e.g., you and your TAs), under Membership List, in the mod column, un-check the box next to the member's name and click Submit Your Changes to save the new settings. Any messages sent by the members you have chosen will be forwarded to all list subscribers automatically.
  5. To make sure these settings apply to any new members you may add to the list, on the List Administration screen, go to Privacy Options > Sender filters; under Privacy Options, next to By default, should new list member postings be moderated?, select Yes; then click Submit Your Changes to save these settings.