Skip navigation

Clear Your Browser's Cache

About Clearing Cache

  • "Clearing cache" means deleting what's stored in the browser's memory, including files, cookies, and browsing history.
  • Clear your browser's cache periodically for security reasons and to improve the performance of SPIRE.
  • Be sure to clear your browser cache after any SPIRE upgrade or maintenance.  Otherwise the new versions of SPIRE pages may conflict with cache, resulting in error messages and data entry problems.
  • Never store your SPIRE password (or other passwords that protect private data) in your browser.
  • Other browsers:  If your browser is not covered by the directions below, use the browser's Help feature to search for "delete browser data."  Follow the directions to delete cache, cookies, and history.

Windows

For all Windows supported browsers:  Press Ctrl-Shift-Delete to open the relevant pop-up window and follow the directions below. Be sure to close and reopen your browser before logging in to SPIRE. 

If you use Follow these directions to clear your browser cache

Internet Explorer 8 and up

Use the Delete Browsing History pop-up window to delete everything except ActiveX Filtering and Tracking Protection Data (if available), and InPrivate Filtering Data (if available). Be sure to clear the checkbox next to Preserve Favorites website data.

Mozilla Firefox

In the Clear All History pop-up window, set the Time range to clear to Everything.  Select the checkboxes to delete everything except Site Preferences. Click Clear Now.

Google Chrome

In the Clear Browsing Data pop-up window, set Obliterate the following items from to the beginning of time.  Select all checkboxes except Content licenses. Click Clear browsing data.

Macintosh OS X

For all supported browsers:  Follow the directions below, then be sure to close and reopen your browser before logging in to SPIRE.

If you use Follow these directions to clear your browser cache

Safari 5 and up

Navigate to Safari > Reset Safari.  Select all checkboxes and click Reset

Mozilla Firefox

Press command-shift-delete.  In the Clear All History pop-up window, set the Time range to clear to Everything.  Select the checkboxes to delete everything except Site Preferences.  Click Clear Now.