Skip navigation

Clean up your UMail Account

Clean Up Your UMail Account

When your UMail account is over quota, you will not be able to receive any email until you have deleted or downloaded messages to free up space on your account. Undergraduate students receive a 500 MB account; graduate students receive 1 GB. Faculty and staff are allocated 2 GB of space.

Note: These pages describe clean-up options for UMail on the Web. You can use these procedures even if you are using an email client (e.g., Mozilla Thunderbird) to access UMail. Simply log in to UMail on the Web at https://umail.oit.umass.edu.


Delete & Purge Messages

In UMail on the Web, messages that are marked to be deleted still occupy space in your account. By purging deleted messages, you are erasing them permanently. Make sure that you do not delete messages that you need for future use!

  1. In your Inbox or any other folder, select the box next to each message you want to delete.
  2. Click Delete (top left). The messages you selected will be marked for deletion.
    Note: In UMail on the Web, deleted messages appear in gray and a line (strikethrough) over the text. If you cannot see deleted messages in your UMail on the Web folders, you may have hidden them. Click Show Deleted (top right).
  3. Click Purge Deleted (top right) to permanently erase all deleted messages.

Delete Attachments (But Keep the Messages)

This is a good option if you want to keep a message after you've downloaded its attachment(s).

  1. In your Inbox or any other folder, open the message whose attachments you wish to delete. The respective email message screen will open.
  2. (optional) For attachments you may need in the future, click the Download icon to download them to your computer.
  3. On the email message screen:
    • Next to the link for an attachment, click the Strip Attachment icon (The strip attachment icon looks like a garbage can.).
    • If your message has multiple attachments and you wish to delete them all, click Strip all attachments.
    • A confirmation pop-up window will open, asking if you wish to delete the attachments. Click OK. Your attachments will be permanently removed from your account and the attachment link will be replaced with a link to a confirmation message.

Save Sent Messages without Attachments

UMail on the Web lets you save your sent messages without any related attachments.

  1. In the Mailbox Menu, go to Options > Message Composition.
  2. On the Message Composition screen, from the drop-down menu under When saving sent-mail, should we save attachment data?, select:
    • Never save attachments. The New Message window will not have an option for saving attachments.
    • Prompt every time an attachment is sent; default to YES. The New Message window will have a Save Attachments with message in sent-mail folder? drop-down menu in the Attachments area. The default will be set to Yes.
    • (Recommended) Prompt every time an attachment is sent; default to NO. The New Message window will have a Save Attachments with message in sent-mail folder? drop-down menu in the Attachments area. The default will be set to No.
    • Always save attachments. The New Message window will not have an option for saving attachments. Your attachments will be automatically saved.
  3. Click Save Options (at bottom).

Disable Saving All Sent Mail

Only messages composed in UMail on the Web are stored in your Sent folder. Messages composed with email clients (e.g., Mozilla Thunderbird, Apple Mail) will usually be stored on your computer.

If you use UMail on the Web, sent messages can take up a substantial amount of space. We recommend that you do not set UMail on the Web to save all sent mail. You will still have the option to save individual messages; in the New Message window, select the check box next to Save a copy in "Sent" to save a copy of the message in your sent mail folder.

To disable saving all sent mail:

  1. In the Mailbox Menu, go to Options > Signature & Folder Locations.
  2. On the Signature & Folder Locations screen, clear the box next to Save sent mail?, then click Save Options. A confirmation message will appear at the top of the screen.

From this point forward, in the New Message window, the check box next to Save a copy in "Sent" will not be selected by default and your outgoing messages will not be saved.

Empty Your Sent Folder

If you chose to save all your sent messages, we recommend that you purge your Sent folder on a regular basis.

  1. In the Mailbox Menu, from the Open Folder: drop-down menu (top right), select your Sent folder. The Sent folder screen will open, displaying all the sent messages currently saved in your UMail on the Web account.
  2. Select the messages you wish to erase (check the box next to each message) and click Delete (top left), then click Purge Deleted (top right).

Clean Up Your Spam Folder

By default, UMail is set to delete messages filtered to your Spam folder every 14 days. Check your Spam folder, since there could be messages there taking up valuable space. We recommend that you set up your spam folder to be emptied more often than 14 days, especially if you get a lot of spam.

  1. Log in to the UMail Post Office with your IT Account NetID and password.
  2. On the Main Lobby screen, click Spam Filtering. The Spam Filtering screen will open.
  3. On the Spam Filtering screen, under 2. Automatically delete old spam after how long?, select the radio button next to the number of days after which you would like spam messages to be deleted from your account. We recommend that you select 1 or 3 days.
  4. Click Submit Changes. A confirmation message will appear in red at the top of the screen.
  5. Click Logout (top right) to exit the UMail Post Office.