Skip navigation

Subsidiary IT Accounts

UMass Amherst faculty and staff can request Subsidiary IT Accounts for:

  • Departmental or academic projects (e.g., departmental Web sites)
  • Cross-group collaborations
  • Student employees whose job requires them to use email

Each Subsidiary Account comes with a separate email account, blog, UDrive, and Web site space. Subsidiary Accounts cannot be used to access the campus network via wired Ethernet or wireless.

Note: Instructors who need a separate email address, blog, UDrive or Web space for a course, can set up a Course IT Account in SPIRE.

Request a Subsidiary Account

To request a Subsidiary IT Account, contact the IT Help Center through an online help request, or call 413-545-9400 (option 2). The IT Help Center is located at A109 LGRC Lowrise, M-F, 9:00 a.m.- 4:45 p.m.

Once your Subsidiary Account is activated, you will be assigned a new NetID. You will need to login to SPIRE with your personal IT Account NetID and password to assign your Subsidiary Account a new password. See the Manage a Subsidiary Account section below for instructions on how to access your IT Accounts page, which lists your current accounts.

Note: Subsidiary Account usernames and passwords are different than your IT Account NetID and password.

Manage a Subsidiary Account

Use SPIRE to view a Subsidiary Account, change its password, or schedule a date to delete it.
Note: Changing your password for your Subsidiary Account does not change your main IT Account password.

  1. Log in to SPIRE with your IT Account NetID and password.
  2. In the SPIRE navigation, go to OIT Accounts > My OIT Accounts. The My OIT Accounts - Account List page will open, listing your current accounts.
  3. On the My OIT Accounts - Account List page, click the Account Name to view an account's details. The My OIT Accounts - Account Detail page will open.
  4. On the My OIT Accounts - Account Detail page, you can reset your password or schedule a date to delete your account.

Note: Subsidiary Accounts are never de-activated. They remain active until you leave the University or choose to delete them.